Women increase in numbers and influence in Detroit

Women increase in numbers and influence in Detroit

Women are rising in numbers and influence, particularly in Detroit, where for the first time a combination of elected and appointed female Police Commissioners totaled six, making women the majority on the 11-member oversight board.

“As the civilian oversight board for the Detroit Police Department, one of our goals for the department’s workforce, as well as the Board itself, is to reflect the demographics of the City of Detroit. This is why the current number of women serving on the Board is historic and truly special,” said Lisa Carter, the immediate past chair who is in her second term as police commissioner for District 6.

“Still, it is important to remember that each police commissioner comes to the Board with a strong dedication for the important work of ensuring our city has the most professional, responsive, effective, and diverse police department,” Carter added. “We all work together towards that end.”

The Board of Police Commissioners (BOPC) was destined to become majority female last fall when Mayor Mike Duggan named women to fill two vacancies, according to a published press release. In addition to Carter, the female police commissioners are:

  • Elizabeth “Betty” Brooks, who was appointed in 2015 as one of four at-large members.
  • Shirley Burch, who was elected in 2017 to represent District 3.
  • Eva Garza Dewaelsche, who was appointed in 2015 to serve at-large.
  • Evette Griffie, who was appointed to fill a vacancy for District 2 and began serving in December 2018. The seat became vacant when DMC Executive Conrad Mallett, a former at-large BOPC member who won the district election in 2017, resigned for professional reasons in October 2018.
  • Annie Holt, who was appointed to fill an at-large vacancy and began serving at the end of February 2019.

The other members of the BOPC are Darryl D. Brown, District 1, who serves as vice chair; Willie E. Bell, District 4, who serves as chair; Willie E. Burton, District 5; William M. Davis, District 7, and Jim Holley, At-Large.

Photos courtesy of City of Detroit





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.